For a few months I have been contemplating a new motorbike.

I’ve owned my Honda VTR 250 for about three years now. It’s a great bike, perfect to learn on and a fantastic city commuter. On the open road however, not the most comfortable of rides.

I had been looking at the Yamaha Bolt, Harley Davidson Street 500 and the Kawasaki Vulcan S.

I’m 5ft3 and the thought of a heavy bike worried me. I had leaned more towards the Vulcan for its weight, look, performance and value. The Street 500 I passed on as I thought it would be too close a riding style to my VTR and I did want something different. The Bolt was slightly heavier but not learner restricted if I remember rightly.

I was too infactuated with the Vulcan however. I had read one too many good reviews, from those more experienced than I who wouldn’t blink at having it as a second bike. The ergo fit assembly also appealed which I thought was a great intiative by Kawasaki to cater for those of different heights and legs. Most core things are adjustable.

I had visited a number of dealers to check out the Vulcan and it wasn’t until a more recent visit where I had requested just a qoute that I took the plunge – I was only there to look at a clothing sale! Within a couple of hours I had finance approved on a new 2015 purple Kawasaki Vulcan S. It had been some time since I was that excited! Before you ask, what about the 2016 model? I preferred the purple and wanted it.

On the 22nd of December, I went out with my sister to pick up the new family addition, grin from ear to ear. The ride home was delicate yet exciting. Sadly for me, I was then to make a 1000km trip interstate for Christmas for five days so didn’t get much time to get acquinted.

Now back from the holiday period, I am delighted to be spending more time with the bike and planning a weekend away already! It’s now become the favoured child, I need to ensure my VTR doesn’t get neglected!

image

image

